freedom

So apparently some UCSD students thought it was a bright idea to have “compton themed party” to celebrate black history month.  So of course many students got offended, no surprise there, however just how big this story is getting is a bit ridiculous.  First of all this party was held off campus at some guys apartment, yes they are frat boys, but this wasn’t at a frat and this is what many people forget.  People have the right to be offended but as long as it is off campus the school and other people have no right to tell what people can and cannot do on their own time if its not breaking any laws. I am sorry but the thing about this wonderful thing called freedom is that we have the freedom to be stupid sometimes even if it pisses off someone just like I have the right to yell at someone and call them a dumbass in a public area, it may not be nice but its my right.  Frankly if I wanted to yell every racial slur on the planet in my apartment, guess what I HAVE THE FUCKING RIGHT TO DO SO, whether someone likes it or not, I would never do this but that is not the point, the point is that I have the freedom and right to have those opinions.  As long as it isn’t breaking the law we have no right to tell what others should do and not do in the privacy of their own home. Frankly I am tired of everyone pulling the race card the minute someone steps on their toes, I am sorry people but there are definitely racial issues at places like UCSD that need to be addressed but to be honest this event is really trivial in the grand scheme of things.  To be honest these guys probably wanted to throw a “gangster” party for a while and thought black history month would tie to the theme, stupid yes, but these are frat guys we are talking about, yes there are frat guys that are smart but there are many who aren’t the sharpest tools in the shed.  I wouldn’t be surprised that while this was racist, that these guys didn’t have malicious intent like people are saying.  Many of us tend to forget that california is very different than other places and that people from other states, especially states that are predominantly white, don’t really know much about black history and what they think about minority people is what you see on tv in music and probably do not fully understand what black history month is all about. Some people are ignorant and some people are stupid.  I went to a school where you were either filipino/mexican/ or black so I understand why this offends people but not everyone grew up the way I did. I am not going to lie, I have had said some pretty harsh opinions in regards to certain races in the privacy of my own home after some bad experiences even with the background I am.  I am bi-racial white/filpino but I will not lie and say that I do not  have some strong opinions about both the filipino and mexican races after living in San Diego and being raised with filipinos my whole life followed by many bad experiences with both of these races, will some of my opinions offend people, defiinitely but I have the common sense to keep these to myself, these guys lack this common sense.

Everyone has a right to their opinion because it is THEIR OPINION, you do not have to agree with their opinion but at the end of the day it is their opinion and in a country like America we shouldn’t be scared to voice our opinion.  People are going to offend people that is a fact because you cannot make everyone happy.  Just like you are free to disagree with my views, I am free to have those views in the first place.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

